PDA

View Full Version : benefits, legalities and evading the authorities surrounding seam welding your body

dburto
4th March 2010, 07:41 PM
CAR - AE71 CSX

MOTOR - 4ac, soon to 20v 4AGE

USE - Daily, drift/grip

PROBLEM - I want to stiffen her up but i'm not sure what seams i should be welding (corolla specific) etc....

PERSONAL SITUATION - Im an experienced welder fabricator so i dont need to know how to set up the welder or anything... Im wanting to understand and get a good overall view of the benefits, legalities ways to evade the authorities (should they pull me over) surrounding seam welding..

hey ppl long time watcher, first time poster (that i can remember) just landed my first rolla and im after information plz help :thumbup:

resol
4th March 2010, 07:53 PM
as far as benefits, pretty much anything anywhere in a rolla that stiffer is goin to be a bonus (as long as it doesnt add too much weight). a half cage made a huge difference to the handling of my rolla when i had it.

the main seams are the ones which are under the most stress, and connect to the more important parts of the car. i.e strut towers, wheel arch's and chasis. weld these to each other and you should get some positive gains from them.

i recomend searching through old scholl rally builds and such where this was done a lot and see what they did.

in reguards to legalities, if the engine bay is painted i challenge any cop to pick out that the bay has been seam welded. i dont think its illegal any way, just say you bought the car like that, and try to talk your way out of it if they pick it. i talked my way out of a weber carby, gatorade being used as a catch can, and twin tips poking about 1/2m out the back of the car. just depends who you talk to...

-dan

tuned86
4th March 2010, 09:19 PM