PDA

View Full Version : ke70 engine options

madaz matt
13th February 2012, 04:40 PM
Hey guys,
I’ve been on here for a while now just sifting through all the useful information in this friendly environment.This is my first post so please correct me if I’m wrong.

I own a white ke70 and as usual me and my 4k are having a troublesome relationship due to its lack of power, I’m sure there are lots out there who can sympathise lol.

Now I am a young mechanic/machinist/ fabricator with enough experience to know that nothing to get more power out of it is going to be cheap or easy. I do all my own work which helps but anyway I have a few questions as I am unsure which way to go about things.

The car is my currant daily but I have another that I will carry out the conversion on first then I will transfer it all. I have a strong passion for drift and have already sorted the suspension to a level I feel comfortable with.

My options that I see are;
· Rebuild the 4k or build a 5k
· I have a gen 1 3sge and w55 box s bell housing and a haltech platinum sprint 500

My questions are;
Will a built 4 or 5k provide enough power at a reasonable cost to slide at around 80-100kph?
Would I be better off converting to 3s with R1 carburettors? If so what distributer will work with that arrangement? 4AC??
What sensor arrangement would work with the haltech? I’ve read here and there that you can use a 4AGZE crank angle sensor can anyone confirm that? Then what harmonic balancer to you use to get a trigger wheel? 1ZZ coils? Can the standard distributer be modified to give just a single cam position pulse?
I would like to convert to 3S and would love to hear from anyone who has done a 3S RWD conversion.

Thank you,
Matt

AJPS
13th February 2012, 04:42 PM
put the 3s in it and be done

Rice86
13th February 2012, 04:58 PM
if you already have a Haltech ECU, aim for EFI
you can build a 5k but when your done, make sure you throw it out the window